Wilton Course 1 – Class 4

February 10, 2009 § Leave a comment

I finished Course 1! Yay!! I think class 4 went well. The scariest part was learning the Wilton Rose. I was afraid I wouldn’t get it at all. I had a hard time at first because my icing was a bit too stiff. I switched to using my medium and it worked out better, although my roses look more like some weird rose-hybrids. I kept getting raggedy edges and my instructor said it’s because I wasn’t using enough pressure, although I’m not so sure. It will take lots more practice to get it right.
We also learned the sweet pea, which is so cute!! I will have to use that soon. Then the bow and leaves, which are really easy.
I used this recipe to make my cake and buttercream. I was out of unsalted butter for the buttercream, so I used salted which means it came out mostly tasting like butter. I still think it was better than the class buttercream, but again, I shall have to keep looking. Another downside I discovered is that you can’t color it. It just makes streaks in the icing. Anyway, here’s my cake:

rose cake

 

rose cake 2

The good news is that I start the Fondant and Gumpaste course next Monday!! I would have liked to take all the classes in order, but their Course 2 doesn’t start until April and I can’t wait that long. I’m very excited about learning fondant, although I’ve heard it tastes worse than the buttercream… Oh well, it looks nice. ; )

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wilton Course 1 – Class 4 at Happy At Home.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

