Wilton Cake Decorating Course 1 – Class 1

January 21, 2009 § 4 Comments

I went to my first Wilton Cake Decorating Class on Monday!!  Yay!!  I have been so excited about this class–I couldn’t wait to go.  I am taking the class at Vanilla Bean, which is a store I’d never heard of before signing up to for the class.  But it is such a cool little store!!  It is basically dedicated to cake decorating, with some candy-making and party supplies thrown in.  It has everything you wouldn’t be able to find at Michael’s or Hobby Lobby, because it specializes in just these few things.  It is not fancy in any way–you would not notice it if you didn’t know it was there.  In fact, I’ve gone past it quite a few times and always figured it was a coffee/pastry shop based on the name.

Anyway, there are 7 people in my class.  My teacher is very nice and has her own cake decorating business.  We spent the first class going over the supplies we need (I already have most of the stuff, since I hit a 40% off Wilton products sale at Hobby Lobby in December.  I went a little overboard and bought more than the bare minimum needed for the class, but I intend to do this as more than a hobby, so I think it will be worth it…unless I’m terrible at this…we’ll see.) 

cimg2295a

I guess this is kind of an expensive hobby, but a lot of the items will last a long time, if not forever.  We also talked about how to make the Class Buttercream Icing and how to make the different consistencies for different purposes.  We learned how to fill and use different decorating bags (featherweight, disposable and parchment).  Then our teacher filled a cake that she had made and iced and decorated it in front of us.  She made it look very easy, which worries me.  ; )  Finally, we got to eat it and it was delicious!  She used this raspberry filling they sell in the store.  It was amazing!!

So for next week, we have to bring in an iced cake to decorate in class.  I know most people have to make the rainbow cake in the second class.  Our teacher said we can do whatever we want using the techniques she’s going to teach us.  I know most people would relish being able to do whatever they want, but I’m the type of person who needs more guidelines.  Otherwise, my cake is going to look like a mish-mash of whatever pops into my head and I won’t like it.  I think I am going to make the rainbow cake anyway.  It looks pretty and if I stick to the book, it will give me a standard to compare my cake to, to see if I’m learning at the correct pace. 

So next week we learn: the star, the curving line and the tight zigzag, printing (this I’m very nervous about and plan on investing in those cheater message press sets) and part 1 of the Wilton Rose.  We have to bring in a ton of icing in bags and containers, plus the cake and all our supplies.  It should be interesting just getting it all there.

course20book201

§ 4 Responses to Wilton Cake Decorating Course 1 – Class 1

  • Elissa says:

    Thanks for the post! I just signed up for my class (Course 1) which starts next tuesday. I am very excited and reading your post gets me even more excited!!!

  • Debbie Parsons says:

    I have also signed up for my first class…August 3rd 7PM.
    The class is at Hobby Lobby.
    I am looking for alot of direction and help with starting my own business.
    I guess watching all of the episodes of Ace of Cakes and The Food Network Cake Challenges has me inspired. I need a good recipe for a carving cake…anybody have one let me know and I will give it a try.
    What supplies if any are needed for Class1?
    As you can tell my mind goes in 50 different directions when I am excited about a new adventure.

  • Riley says:

    Do u make a cake at the class? So i got a gift card for the class and i will just give it to them but i heard that you have to buy other tools for the class is that true?

    • Jessica says:

      Yes when you sign up and pay the small fee for the class you get the list of supplies you need. I’ve been wandering though. Each set is about $20-$30 and there’s 3 classes which means you would end up paying around $90 if you took all 3 classes and you can get the ultimate cake decorating kit and it comes with everything for all 3 classes and extras and its organized in a convenient caddy. Would I be better off buying it instead?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wilton Cake Decorating Course 1 – Class 1 at Happy At Home.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

